Opportunity for children to interact with Firodia award winners

Environment and climate change

New Delhi, January 27 : Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) Chairman Dr K Sivan and Director General of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) Dr Shekhar Mande will be conferred HK Firodia award for their contribution to the field of Science and Technology. The scientists will be felicitated in a ceremony that may take place in Pune on February 07. The award function will also provide opportunities for students to interact with the awardees. To select the students, a quiz programme will be held and those who are keen to participate in the quiz can so do by registering online at http://hkfirodiaawards.org/ .

While K Sivan will receive the HK Firodia Vijnan Ratna award, Dr Shekhar Mande will receive HK Firodia Vijnan Bhushan award. This is the 24th edition of HK Firodia awards.

The Awards are known as HK Firodia Awards for Excellence in Science & Technology. The selection committee of this year’s award was headed by eminent scientist Dr R A Mashelkar and Arun Firodia, Chairman of Kinetic Group.

The Awards are given to any Indian Scientist who has made original and outstanding contributions in his work in India and done world-class work in any field of Science & Technology. The excellence may relate to any field of Scientific endeavor from Agriculture, Engineering, Medical Sciences to Space and Environmental Sciences.

Dr K Sivan of Chandrayaan-2 fame and as a renowned space scientist needs no introduction as such. His specific areas of expertise include aerospace engineering, space transportation systems engineering, launch vehicle and mission design, control and guidance design and mission simulation software design, mission synthesis, simulation, analysis and validation of flight systems.

Dr Mande is an exponent in the such areas of research as protein structure and function, biology of Mycobacterium tuberculosis, probed through structural analysis of proteins, various biophysical and biochemical approaches. His research interest also includes applications of Graph Theory to large-scale protein interaction networks and computational methods to analyse large-scale biological data.

The recipients of this award earlier include distinguished scientists such as Dr CNR Rao, Dr A P J Abdul Kalam, Dr Raghunath Anant Mashelkar, Dr Jayant Narlikar, Dr Anil Kakodkar, Dr MK Bhan, and Prof. Vijay Raghwan.

By Jyoti Singh

(India Science Wire)